Astood

So HALLÓ 2011.
The passage from 2010 to 2011 was, now for the third time in a row, at Heiða and Sverrir’s in Grafarvogur. Heiða is Jóna’s mom, and Sverrir is the boyfriend. Three years I see explode up in the air from the top of Grafarvogur.
Coming back was good. Being gone was also very good. 10 days in North-America. My ultrashort american winter – a success.
Now this last semester at Háskóli Íslands (University of Iceland, of course) is shaping up to be the busiest one. First of all, I am now an assistant teacher at HÍ, for a class in practical Icelandic (60 credits for foreigners who wish to learn Icelandic more quickly, I would guess). I will teach a group of 20 foreign students once a week for the whole session. It’s my first time doing this and it’s really exciting. The course is called Orðaforði II (vocabulary II).
There is one other assistant teacher – she’s my age and is called Úlfhildur.

To boot, I might start teaching Icelandic level 1 at Mímir, as well as keep my job there at the registration.

AND I am writing my BA thesis this semester and I have not started – not written a single-st word.

I’m thinking of writing about the different in meaning between using a weak adjective or strong adjective with a determined noun, e.g. undir bláum himninum vs. undir bláa himninum (under the blue sky)

I’m really freaking proud, to say the truth, to be able to start as an assistant teacher at age 22, with less than 2 years (all in all) in Iceland. I’m priding in my pants.

One response to “Astood

  1. What an exciting subject for the BA thesis!

Leave a comment